My Summer Reading List

Summer is quickly approaching (June 20), and that means it is time to set my summer reading list.  As I have stated in blogs past, I’m a slow reader so don’t expect an Al Mohler or Mark Dever reading list.  I’ve only got three, but I will explain why I picked these three.

More Than ConMore than Conquerors by William Hendriksen

This book was first published 1939.  It is by no means the newest book on my self.  In fact, I inherited this book from my dad back in 1998.  I have read parts of it before, but never straight through.  Since I am going through Revelation on Sundays, I figured it would be a great read.  This book comes from an Amillennial point of view which is great for me, since I am Amillennial.  From what I know about this book (and Hendriksen) in the past, this book is bound to be theologically rich and greatly encouraging.

camaraderie-of-confidence

 

A Camaraderie of Confidence by John Piper

I am a Piperite.  Last year was my year of Piper, one Piper book each month.  This year, I’ve cut it back to just one, and this is the one.  I love how Piper does biographical sketches.  He makes the saint come alive again, right out of the pages.  In this book, part of The Swans are Not Silent series, Pastor John goes through the lives of Charles Haddon Spurgeon (one of my personal heroes that my youngest son’s middle name matches Spurgeon’s), George Muller, and Hudson Taylor.  This is a short book (only 109 pages) and will be a wonderful dessert to finish my summer.

From HeavenFrom Heaven He Came and Sought Her edited by David Gibson and Jonathan Gibson

Back until even a few short years ago, I believed that out of the 5 points of Calvinism, the idea of Limited (particular) Atonement was the weakest biblically.  It stood mainly on logic.  If the other 4 points are true then LA must be true logically, but scripturally it is hard to make a case.  That was until I received this book from Together for the Gospel conference a couple of years ago.  It has been sitting on my self ever since calling on me to “Tolle lege” (pick up and read).  I’ve decided I am going to tackle this theological giant of a book.  With contributions by Sinclair Ferguson, John Piper, Carl Trueman, and other greats, I cannot lose.  I am most excited to read this one!

So what are you planning on reading this summer?  Please leave your comments!  “Finally brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable–if there is any moral excellence and if there is any praise–dwell on these things,” (Phil 4:8, HCSB).

Leave a Reply

